Alena Talkachova (Elena G. Tolkacheva)

Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Assistant Director, Strategic Research Initiatives, Institute for Engineering in Medicine

Alena Talkachova



[email protected]

Nils Hasselmo Hall
Room 6-128
312 Church St SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455



  • BS, Physics, Belarussian State University, Minsk, Belarus, 1991
  • MS, Physics, Belarussian State University, Minsk, Belarus, 1992
  • PhD, Nonlinear optics and laser physics, Nice University, Nice France, 2003

Xiangzhen Kong

Xiangzhen Kong

 B.S., Electrical Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology, China, 2016

Email: [email protected]
Ph: 612-626-4122

I am pursuing my PhD. degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering and graduated from Harbin Institute of Technology (China) with a B.S. in 2016. My research interests are biomedical signal processing and clinical data analysis. We implemented several advanced analyzing algorithms on ECG, iEGMs and hemodynamics then to uncover the complexity of physiology. Besides, I also work on Labview programming and participate in optical mapping experiments.

Jieun Lee

Jieun Lee

M.S., Information and Communications, GIST, Korea, 2008
M.S., Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Minnesota, 2012

Email: [email protected]
Ph: 612-626-4122

My research interests are signal processing-based discrimination and prediction for arrhythmia. We aim to analyze the ECG signals to reveal distinguishing characteristics of the AF signals in the early stage for proper AF treatments. I am currently working on discrimination of the AF progression over time, using quantitative measures in terms of non-linear dynamic complexities and AF burden factors.

Yuxuan (Elodie) Du


B.S., Electrical Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara, 2021

Email: [email protected]
I am pursuing my Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering at University of Minnesota. My research interests are biomedical signal processing, computer vision and machine learning techniques. My current research area is analyzing the clinical ECG signals obtained from armbands, applying nonlinear techniques for identifying cardiac anomalies.

Courtney Karnopp

Courtney Karnopp

 B.S., Biological Sciences, Chemistry Minor, North Dakota State University, 2017

Email: [email protected]
Ph: 612-624-0266

I am pursuing my PhS in Biomedical Engineering. My research interest’s focus towards cardiovascular functions, specifically looking at the electrical activity and cell depolarization/repolarization of myocytes. I am currently working on investigating cardiac rhythms with high resolution optical mapping techniques, exploring various non-linear techniques to extract hidden physiological information from the signals, in addition to data analysis.

Trenton Callaway

Trenton Callaway

 Email: [email protected]

I am an undergraduate Biomedical Engineering student set to graduate in Spring 2022. My research interests include biomedical device design and programming. I am currently developing MATLAB software to analyze cardiological data to distinguish between healthy and irregular heart activity.

Sam Newell

Sam Newell


M.S., Biomedical Engineering, University of Minnesota, 2021
B.BME, Bachelors of Biomedical Engineering, University of Minnesota, 2020


Hello! I am a former MS BME student and current medical student at the University of Minnesota Medical School. My research interests lie in improving our understanding of cardiac arrhythmias and improving the devices used to treat them.

Former Students

Former PhD Graduate Students

2016-2022   Vasanth Ravikumar
2014-2018   Elizabeth Annoni
2013-2018   Steven Lee
2013-2017   Kanchan Kulkarni
2013-2017   Shivaram Poigai Arunachalam
2012-2015   Ning Wei
2009-2014   Dr. Thomas Xie, postdoc
2009-2014   Ramjay Visweswaran
2009-2014   Stephen McIntyre
2010-2012   Dr. Rebecca Smith


Former MS Graduate Students

2018-2020   Sanket Thakare
2018-2020   Preethy Parthiban
2019-2020   Brett Levac
2018-2019   Joey Mathew
2016-2017   Ryan Kluck, honor thesis
2016-2017   James Schultz
2014-2016   Christopher Johnson
2009-2014   Joe Ippolito
2012-2013   Virendra Kakade
2009-2010   Alexander Cram